The Hannibal-LaGrange University Athletic Department hosts its first annual SPEAR Awards Ceremony on Thursday, April 19 at the Roland Fine Arts Center.

The Hannibal-LaGrange University Athletic Department is rolling out the red carpet.

HLGU is scheduled to host its first annual SPEAR (Spirit, Performance, Excellence, Academics, Respect) Awards Ceremony at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 19 at the Roland Fine Arts Center on campus. 

The event is free and open to the public.

Doors open at 6:30 p.m., and light refreshments will be served.

The awards will be presented on athletics, academics and service, while the Trojan Award is given to the student-athlete who is not only excellent in their sport but represents HLGU, the NAIA, and the community well.

Finalists and Honorable Mentions (HM) for the awards are listed in alphabetical order by team or last name as follows: 

Community Service Team of the Year
Women’s Basketball, Women’s Softball, Women’s Volleyball
HM: Men’s Basketball, Men’s Soccer, Track & Field

Female Newcomer of the Year
Emma Anderson, Hannah Killian, Lauren Sisco

Male Newcomer of the Year
Dustin Jarboe, Graysan Peneston, Brady Smith
HM: Robin Conlan, Santiago Diaz, Wade Marshall

Performance of the Year
Men’s Basketball, Men’s Golf, Bailey Wagner
HM: Kenna Greenway, Isaac Lehmkuhl, Men’s Soccer, Rebecca Sheridan, Shotgun Team, Tim Pace, “Theologian The Trojan” Mascot Challenge

Female Athlete of the Year
Maci Cotler, Kenna Greenway, Shelby Maupin
HM: Bailey Wagner

Male Athlete of the Year
Isaac Lehmkuhl, Tim Pace, Jeremiah Reed
HM: Shawn Geralds

Trojan Award
Michael Casebolt, Shelby Maupin, Stephanie Venvertloh
HM: Jordyn Alford, Skylar Evans, Shawn Geralds, Graysan Peneston

Staff of the Year
Jason Farr, Michelle Mundle, Martin “Marty” Sartin
HM: Silas Acuff, Carissa Eichmeyer, Tasha Flynn

Coach of the Year
David Erskine, Tasha Flynn, Andy Lemons
HM: Dan Hurst, Kyle Smith

Team of the Year
Men’s Golf, Men’s Soccer, Women’s Cross Country
HM: Men’s Indoor Track & Field, Women’s Soccer