New Monroe County clerk sworn in

New Monroe County Clerk LaJeana Peterson is sworn in by Judge Michael Wilson Wednesday, July 7, 2021, at the Monroe County Courthouse in Paris. She was appointed to the position by Gov. Mike Parson on July 2.

PARIS, Mo — LaJeana Peterson, of Paris, was formally sworn in as the Monroe county clerk Wednesday morning at the Monroe County Courthouse.

Peterson’s appointment came after former Monroe County Clerk Christina Buie resigned midterm when she took another job. Melissa Graupman was sworn in on May 21 as interim county clerk until Gov. Mike Parson appointed Peterson to the position on July 2.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.