Hannibal Courier-Post

Monroe City, Palmyra athletes named to all-district team

Courier-Post Staff
Posted: Feb. 26, 2019 11:36 am

Athletes from Monroe City and Palmyra have been selected by coaches to the Class 3 District 13 Missouri Basketball Coaches Association All-District Team.

Representing Monroe City's boys are C.E. Talton and Bryce Stark. Coach of the Year honors went to Brock Edris of Monroe City.

Palmyra's representatives on the all-district team were Ragar McKinney and Bill Nunnelly.

Rounding out the boys team were: Guy Moran, Centralia; Jamison Hogsett, Macon; Omena Oberuvwu, MMA; Brandon Kracht, Clark County; Peyton Davis, Centralia; Clayton Cook, Hallsville.

On the girls side, Monroe City's honorees were Jada Summers and Hallie Dyer. Cody Leonard of Monroe City was chosen Coach of the Year.

Chosen from Palmyra were Megan Stone, Audrey Fohey and Bailey Lovelace.

Other selections to the girls all-district team were: Kennedy Flanagan, Highland; Kaitlin Benson, Highland; Aubrey Boulware, Clark County; Jade Ross, Clark County; Carter Simkins, Centralia.

The Class 3 District 13 tourney wrapped up Saturday in Centralia. In the girls title game, Summers scored 36 points to help second-seeded Monroe City outlast top-seeded Palmyra 54-53. In the boys championship contest Monroe City, the No. 1 seed, rolled past third-seeded Centralia 67-43.

Monroe City's boys, 24-4, go against St. Paul Lutheran (Concordia), 25-1, in a sectional contest at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 27, in Moberly.

Monroe City's girls, 20-7, will face unbeaten Trenton, 24-0, in the sectional round at 8:15 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 27, in Moberly.