Todd Ahrens named Chamber of Commerce Pacesetter

Todd Ahrens, president and CEO of Hannibal Regional Healthcare System, left, receives the Hannibal Area Chamber of Commerce Pacesetter of the Year award from Chamber President Rich Stilley.
By Hannibal Courier-Post
Posted: Feb. 4, 2020 12:00 pm

HANNIBAL | Todd Ahrens was honored twice during the Hannibal Area of Commerce's 111th annual meeting and banquet Feb. 1 at the Rialto Banquet Hall.

Before being named the Chamber's 2019 Pacesetter, Ahrens was honored for his role as president and CEO at Hannibal Regional Healthcare System, which received a Community Betterment Award. Among its achievements were completing a major portion of its three-year $61 million expansion and completing a fourstory addition to Hannibal Regional Medical Group.

Chamber President Rich Stilley announced Ahrens was the 2019 Pacesetter, after outlining some of Ahrens accomplishments. After serving as HRMG's general counsel since 2007, Ahrens became CEO and president in 2012. Under his leadership the hospital expanded its surgery, including the new da Vinci robotic system, opened an inpatient rehabilitation unit and expanded its coverage area with new clinics.

A Community Betterment award also went to the Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum for its continued work on its buildings, including completion of Grant's Drugstore in 2019.

Dr. Sandra Ahlum was honored as Civic Contributor of the Year, crediting her for founding and leading the CHART Teen Task Force, with a goal of decreasing births to teen mothers. This has been successful, and CHART also hosts Teen Health Fairs with various types of information to help teens make good decisions.

The New Business of the Year award was presented to Bobby and Lynn Boland for opening the Rialto Banquet Hall and hosting 139 events since it opened in January 2018 and for already booking 49 events in 2020. Also honored for the Rialto were the managers, A.J. and Kara Viorel.

Honored for earning the most points as Chamber Ambassadors of the Year were Courtney Bareis with 990 points and Robin Colgrove with 930 points.

Outgoing Chamber members Bobby Boland, Brad Kurz and Beau Viehmann were recognized, as were new board members Stephanie Cooper, Stacy Giltner, Scott Haycraft, Randy Jobe and Deborah Thornburg.

Stilley, who began his second year as Chamber president, said plans for 2020 include safety events, and a four-part marketing series. “We need to celebrate and share what we do,” he said. “We have to work together. There is nothing we can't achieve, if we work together.”

See photo gallery for more pictures of the people honored.


In Case You Missed It

MU Extension announces '4-H Goes Online' project
Starting this fall, Missouri 4-H will be able to reach more young people and families across the state through an easy-to-use online learning platform called Canvas that brings 4-H project-based learning directly into the home