Ronnie M. Church, 78, of Palmyra, Missouri, passed away Thursday, May 15, 2014, at his home.

Ronnie M. Church, 78, of Palmyra, Missouri, passed away Thursday, May 15, 2014, at his home.


Ronnie was born July 23, 1935, in Palmyra to John W. and Sylvia M. McKee Church.


Ronnie was married to Edna Knueppel May 8, 1954, at the Zion Lutheran Church in Palmyra. She survives of the home.

Survivors include children, Stephen Church of Palmyra, Clarice Jackson of Palmyra, Patty (George) Crane of Palmyra, and Michael Church of Palmyra; sister-in-law, Ada Church of Palmyra, sister-in-law, Ruth Hart of Milan, Ill.; brother and sister-in-law, Harold (Hazel) Knueppel of Texas; grandchildren, Josh (Sonya) Crane, Jamin Jackson, Chris Church, Lillie Church and Lydia Church, all of Palmyra, and Jeremy Crane of St. Louis, Mo.; great-grandchild, Rowan Crane of Palmyra; and special friend and caregiver, Leslie Caldwell.

He was preceded in death by his parents; brother, John W. Church; sister, Donna Fern Kirby; and infant son, Christopher Church.

Mr. Church was a graduate of Palmyra High School. He later went to work for the Marion County Highway Department, where he retired as road supervisor. He was also a lifelong Marion County farmer.

Ronnie was a faithful member of the Zion Lutheran Church, where he served on numerous church boards over the years. He was also a member of Residents Encounter Christ and a board member for Greenwood Cemetery. Ronnie enjoyed woodworking, gardening and especially spending precious time with his grandchildren. He was devoted to sharing his life experiences with others.

Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Monday, May 19, 2014, at the Zion Lutheran Church in Palmyra. Rev. David Johnson will officiate. Burial will follow at the Greenwood Cemetery in Palmyra, Missouri.

Visitation will be from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. Sunday, May 18, 2014, at the Lewis Brothers Funeral Chapel in Palmyra.

Memorial contributions may be made to Zion Lutheran Church and/or Community Loving Care Hospice and/or Palmyra Nutrition Center.

Pallbearers will be Josh Crane, Jamin Jackson, Jeremy Crane, Chris Church, Lillie Church, Lydia Church and Mike Schaefer.

Honorary pallbearers will be Dick Perry, Dallas Elliott, Wayne Myers, Jerry Davis, Steve Begley, Wayne Lucke and the Marion County Highway Department crew, both active and retired.