With the World Series now over and Boston crowned the champions, the only thing left for the 2013 baseball season is the post season awards. On Monday, the Baseball Writers Association of America will start releasing the names of the players who won each award.
The first award winners to be named will be the American League and the National League Rookies of the Year (ROY). On Tuesday, Nov. 12, the American League and National League Managers of the Year will be revealed. The next award will be the American League and National League Cy Young Awards on Wednesday, Nov. 13. The final award will be the Most Valuable Player for both the American League (AL) and the National League. Those will be released on Thursday, Nov. 14.
In the National League, the top candidates for ROY are Jose Fernandez of the Miami Marlins and Yasiel Puig of the Los Angeles Dodgers. Other players who should get some consideration are Shelby Miller of the National League champion St. Louis Cardinals as well as South Korean import Hyun-Jin Ryu of the Dodgers. The top AL candidates are Wil Meyers of the Tampa Bay Rays, Jose Iglesias of the Detroit Tigers, and Rays’ pitcher Chris Archer.
The Manager of the Year Award will be an interesting one this year as there are many deserving candidates. In the NL, Clint Hurdle should be a runaway choice for the award with Mike Matheny of the Cardinals and Don Mattingly of the Dodgers also receiving some consideration. The top American League choices should be Terry Francona of the Indians, Ned Yost of the Royals and John Farrell of the World Series champion Red Sox.
Moving on to the Cy Young Awards for baseball’s top pitchers, there looks to be two clear cut winners in each league.  For the Senior Circuit, the award will most likely go to Clayton Kershaw while Max Scherzer will take it for the Junior Circuit.
But, that doesn’t mean there are no other  pitchers worthy of consideration.
Ace’s Adam Wainwright of the Cardinals and Cliff Lee of the Phillies should garner plenty of votes in the National League. In the American League, Yu Darvish of the Texas Rangers and possibly even Bartolo Colon of the Oakland A’s should receive some votes.
The final award will be the Most Valuable Player.
There is no clear-cut runaway in the National League. The top three candidates will probably be Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates, Paul Goldschmidt of the Arizona Diamondback and Yadier Molina of the St. Louis Cardinals.
And just like the 2012 season, the possible winner of the award in the American League is pitting to be another argument of old school baseball versus new the age. Old school baseball will say the award goes to the Detroit Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera while the new age thinks that Mike Trout of the Angels deserves the award. It won’t be a landslide in either case though as Chris Davis of the Baltimore Orioles could very easily take home the hardware.
Over the rest of this week, I will break down the candidates for each award and share with you who I think deserves the award. As a side note, one player I think deserves the award is not mentioned here as a candidate.