He might not have made the All Star team, but Oakland A's outfielder Yoenis Cespedes was still invited to participate in the 2013 MLB All Star Home Run Derby. While Cespedes was the last player added to the annual showcase, he did not disappoint.
Cespedes crushed 17 home runs in the opening round of the derby and went on to win the title, beating 2012 NL Rookie of the Year Bryce Harper 9-8 in the final round.
Cespedes' 17 homers in the first round tied David Ortiz for the third highest one round total in the history of the derby. It was also the highest since Josh Hamilton set the record with 24 in 2008.
The American League team consisted of Cespedes, Robinson Cano, Chris Davis, and Prince Fielder. Fielder, last year's winner did not make it past the first round while Davis, the current MLB home run leader (37) was eliminated after the second round.
David Wright, Michael Cuddyer, Bryce Harper, and Pedro Alvarez made up the National League team.
The top four players advance to the second round and the top two go to the finals. Neither team's captain (Cano for the AL and Wright for the NL) made it out of the first round.
Harper, who hit 8 home runs in each of the three rounds for a total of 24, went first in the final round, setting the tone for what Cespedes would have to reach to win.
Cespedes had no problem continuing the show he displayed all night long. When Cespedes crushed his 455-foot title winning homer to dead center, he flipped his bat and threw his hands up in the air to celebrate.
Cespedes finished the night with 32 home runs totaled across all three rounds.